Hailed by The Strad as ‘an artist who risks’ and described by Pizzicato Magazine as ‘a sensitive artist who knows how to immerse in the depths of music’, her passion for promoting the viola combined with her charismatic and expressive performances, and her beauty of sound, make Isabel Villanueva one of the most valued and complete violists of today.

Since her debut at 18 performing Bartók Viola Concerto with the Radio Television Spanish Symphony Orchestra, Ms. Villanueva has developed an global career that has expanded through Europe, Russia, China, Latinamerica and Middle East. Passionate, energic and creative, she is embarqued in an overflowing activity as a soloist, pedagogue,  creator of innovative projects to expand classical music, premiering contemporary works, and playing chamber music projects with prestigious colleagues.

She has been invited as a soloist with important orchestras including Moscow Soloists, Estonia National Symphony Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar in Venezuela, Real Philharmonia de Galicia, Castile and Leon Symphony Orchestra, Lebanon Philharmonic, Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra, New Russia State Symphony Orchestra and Zagreb Soloists, among many others, under the baton of Michel Plasson, Jacek Kaspszyk, Yaron Traub, Paul Daniel, Andres Mustonen, Jorge Mester, Christian Vásquez and Lior Shambadal.

Isabel Villanueva © Rosalía Bronstein


  • 14/06/2024 - 15/06/2024
  • Festival Fronteras

  • Les Arts, Valencia (Spain)
  • Music & Poetry
    Viola Solo


  • 23/06/2024
  • Recital

  • Temple, Cully (Switzerland)
  • Festival Lavaux Classique 
    Recital with Adam Laloum, piano

    Biber Passacaglia for viola solo
    Schumann, ‘Märchenbilder’ for viola and piano Op.113
    Brahms, Sonata for viola and piano Op.120 No.2


  • 28/06/2024
  • Recital

  • Jardines de los Alcázares, Sevilla (Spain)
  • Festival Noches en los Alcázares 
    Recital with Ingmar Lazar, piano

    Works by Manuel de Falla, Cassadó, Piazzolla, Bartók, Monti…




Recital con Antonio Galera (piano)


Festival de Música y Danza Ciudad de Úbeda (Auditorio Hospital de Santiago)

Beethoven Noturno op.42 para viola y piano

Beethoven Sonata op.69 No.3 para viola y piano


RITUAL, Isabel Villanueva’s new album for viola solo (von Bingen, Kurtág, Bach, Biber) has been released on 23.3.23, available in physical format under the label Viola Power and on all digital platforms.

RITUAL, ‘Exceptional Album of the Month’ May 2023, Scherzo Magazine “Daring and risk are two recurring elements in Villanueva’s projects, and Ritual is no exception (…) Villanueva offers a stylistically impeccable interpretation without strictly adhering to historicist dictates, a reading always attentive to the organic development of the form as if music were in itself a metaphor for life, the journey of a sound seed that germinates, grows, expands and reaches its culmination and death, which is but a return to the seed.” 

RITUAL, ‘Melómano de Oro’ July 2023, Revista Melómano.

RITUAL, nominated as ‘Best Instrumental Solo’ at the International Classical Music Awards 2024 (ICMA).

Isabel Villanueva has been awarded ‘Premio Solán de Cabras 2024’ praising her international career which expads over 15 years. This prize is given by Cuenca Estival 2024 were she will perform a recital on 30th June and will receive the award.